COVID-19: TRR 266 Research Insights

Bewältigung der durch COVID-19 verursachten wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen


Wie können wir den durch COVID-19 verursachten langfristigen Schaden für das Wirtschaftssystem minimieren? Eine Frage, die derzeit unsere Politiker, Entscheidungsträger, CEOs, Fachleute und Bürger beschäftigt. Eine Frage, auf die es nicht nur eine Antwort gibt, sondern die in Teilfragen zerlegt werden muss und sorgfältige Überlegungen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven erfordert. Wir haben daher unsere Forscher – eine Gruppe von mehr als 80 Forschern, die auf Steuern und Rechnungslegung spezialisiert sind und unterschiedliche methodische Hintergründe haben – gebeten, ihre Gedanken zu dieser brennenden Frage mitzuteilen. Das Ergebnis: eine Sammlung von Artikeln auf der Grundlage aktueller und früherer Forschungsarbeiten, die von der Unternehmens- bis zur Länderebene und von den wirtschaftlichen Folgen bis zur Festlegung von Standards reichen. Wir hoffen, dass diese Sammlung hilfreiche Einblicke für Unternehmen und Politik bietet und der Welt hilft, diese herausfordernden Zeiten zu meistern. Unsere Forscher werden sie regelmäßig ergänzen, also bleiben Sie dran!

In der Presse

German Business Panel
15.06.2021 – Nach dem monatelangen Lockdown glauben die meisten Firmen, dass sie erst im nächsten Jahr das Vorkrisenniveau erreichen werden. „Bei vielen Unternehmen herrscht Skepsis“ – Mannheimer Ökonom über die Stimmung der deutschen Wirtschaft.

 

German Business Panel
29.05.2021 – Die Industrie erlebt einen Aufschwung. Doch die starke internationale Nachfrage sorgt für Lieferengpässe und steigende Preise von Vorprodukten.

 

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
17.05.2021 – Zombieunternehmen sind weiter eine ernste Gefahr für die Wirtschaft. Zwei Experten schätzen die Lage ein und erklären, wie Firmen nicht zu „Untoten“ werden.

 

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
29.04.2021 – Die Staatshilfen in Deutschland haben den Rückgang der Unternehmensgewinne durch Corona gebremst. Dennoch rechnen Unternehmer und Selbständige über alle Branchen hinweg mit einer Insolvenzwelle: Im Durchschnitt könnte fast jeder vierte Betrieb demnach die Krise nicht überleben.

 

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
29.04.2021 – Trotz Pandemie ist die Zahl insolventer Unternehmen paradox niedrig – etwa im Fall von Autowerkstätten. Doch der Schein trügt, befürchten Wissenschaftler, die eine Insolvenzdatenbank aufgebaut haben.

 

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung: Zahlreiche Zombiefirmen

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
27.04.2021

 

Westfälisches Volksblatt: Insolvenzdatenbank

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
24.04.2021

 

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
23.04.2021 – Ende April läuft die Corona-bedingte Aussetzung der Insolvenzantragspflicht aus. Das könnte viele durch die Pandemie in Not geratene Betriebe in die Pleite treiben.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
24.03.2021 – NDR-Podcast Interview mit TRR 266-Forscher Jannis Bischof über die Auswirkungen der Coronahilfen der deutschen Regierung.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
10.02.2021 – Anfang Dezember zeigte sich knapp ein Drittel der Unternehmen unzufrieden mit den Maßnahmen der Regierung, Mitte Januar waren es fast 50 Prozent, so die Corona-Umfrage des German Business Panel. Der Anteil der zufriedenen Unternehmen sank in dem Zeitraum auf unter 20 Prozent.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
09.02.2021 – Der zweite Lockdown zerrt immer stärker an den Nerven der Betriebe in Deutschland. Mehr als ein Fünftel der Unternehmen erwartet, dass ihre eigenen Umsätze überhaupt nie wieder das Vorkrisen-Niveau erreichen.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
08.01.2021 – Die Corona-Krise hat die Gewinne der deutschen Unternehmen im vergangenen Jahr um 16,6 Prozent gedrückt. Das ist das Ergebnis einer repräsentativen Studie an der Universität Mannheim. Bis zum Sommer 2020 mussten die Firmen, die unter dem ersten Lockdown sehr zu leiden hatten, noch Einbußen von 22 Prozent hinnehmen.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
07.01.2021 – Die Staatshilfen in Deutschland haben den Rückgang der Unternehmensgewinne durch Corona gebremst. Dennoch rechnen Unternehmer und Selbständige über alle Branchen hinweg mit einer Insolvenzwelle: Im Durchschnitt könnte fast jeder vierte Betrieb demnach die Krise nicht überleben.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
05.01.2021 – Wie hart trifft der Lockdown den Handel?Online-Händler sind nicht die einzigen Profiteure der Krise – und nicht alle stationären Geschäfte haben Probleme. Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof (Uni Mannheim) im Interview.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
05.12.2020 – Corona – Bundesregierung will Entschädigung nicht mehr an Umsätze, sondern noch stärker an Fixkosten koppeln.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
25.11.2020 – Corona-Pandemie – Studie der Universität Mannheim untersucht die Folgen des zweiten Lockdowns für die größten Krisenbranchen.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
28.9.2020 – Um die zum Teil heftigen Umsatzeinbußen infolge der Corona-Pandemie zu kompensieren, hat die Hälfte der deutschen Betriebe staatliche Hilfe in Anspruch genommen, so eine Umfrage. 80 Prozent rechnen nun mit einer zweiten Welle – im Oktober.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
26.8.2020 – Die Infektionszahlen steigen, weitere Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Pandemie werden auch hierzulande wahrscheinlicher. Forscher der Uni Mannheim haben untersucht, was das für die Unternehmen bedeuten könnte.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
22.8.2020 – Ohne Staatshilfe hätte mehr als die Hälfte der Unternehmen in Deutschland nicht überlebt. Das ist das Fazit einer umfassenden Studie der Universität Mannheim.

 

TRR 266 German Business Panel
10.8.2020 – Ergebnisse der Umfrage des German Business Panel zeigen: Fast jede zweite Firma sagt, sie würde in der Corona-Pandemie ohne Maßnahmen der Regierung nicht überleben. 80 Prozent der Unternehmen rechnen damit, dass es zu einer zweiten Infektionswelle kommt.

 

Coronavirus Unfolded – How the crisis increases the need for corporate transparency

Dirk Simons
6.7.2020 – Wie schwer trifft die Corona-Krise den deutschen Mittelstand? Droht eine Marktbereinigung? Wie transparent sollten Unternehmen über ihre aktuelle Situation informieren? Dirk Simons beantwortet diese Fragen im fünften Teil der Videoreihe „Coronavirus Unfolded“ der Universität Mannheim.

 

Steuern in der Krise ändern!

Deborah Schanz
28.5.2020 – Unternehmen würde es helfen, aktuelle Verluste mit Gewinnen zu verrechnen, schlägt Deborah Schanz in einem Video für BR Wissen vor.

 

Wirtschaftsweise zur Coronapolitik: Warnung vor Hilfen für einzelne Branchen

Deborah Schanz
22.5.2020 – Verlustrücktrag: Wie weit sollte Deutschland gehen? Deborah Schanz diskutiert wie die Regierung auf den wirtschaftlichen Einbruch durch die Coronakrise reagieren könnte.

 

Leere Kassen

Thorsten Sellhorn
30.4.2020 – Wegen der Corona-Krise brechen die Einnahmen vieler Unternehmen weg. Thorsten Sellhorn diskutiert in dem exklusiven €uro-Bilanzcheck, wie groß die Risiken bei den DAX-Konzernen ist.

 

Wie der Staat den Unternehmen besser helfen könnte

Deborah Schanz & TRR 266 Tax Experts
24.4.2020 – Deborah Schanz wird im Namen der Steuerexperten von TRR 266, die eine Pressemitteilung über den sofortigen Verlustrücktrag herausgegeben haben, von der Süddeutschen Zeitung interviewt. Sie argumentiert, dass der von der deutschen Regierung als Reaktion auf COVID-19 eingeführte Verlustrücktrag unzureichend sei.

 

Maximilian Müller & Thorsten Sellhorn
21.4.2020 – Thorsten Sellhorn und Maximilian Müller werden von der Wirtschaftswoche zu den Auswirkungen von COVID-19 auf den Finanzmarkt befragt. Sie argumentieren, dass sich börsennotierte Unternehmen zu Beginn der Quartalssaison nicht verstecken und ihre Aktionäre ausreichend informieren sollten.

 

Maximilian Müller & Thorsten Sellhorn
20.4.2020 – In einem Artikel in der Frankfurter Allgemeinen erörtern Maximilian Müller und Thorsten Sellhorn, wie sich die Finanzmärkte in den aktuellen schwierigen Zeiten nach verlässlichen Informationen sehnen, die ein Stück finanzielle Planungssicherheit bieten.

 

Laurence van Lent
02.04.2020 – In einem Blog für das Institute for New Economic Thinking Tarek diskutieren Tarek Alexander Hassan, Stephan Hollander, Laurence van Lent und Ahmed Tahoun über ihr zeitlich variierendes, firmeneigenes Maß für die Exposition gegenüber epidemischen Krankheiten. (auf Englisch)

 

TRR Tax Experts
28.03.2020 – In einem Artikel in der Frankfurter Allgemeinen wird die von unseren Steuerexperten vorgeschlagene steuerliche Maßnahme des sofortigen Verlustrücktrags diskutiert.

Beteiligte Institutionen

Die Hauptstandorte vom TRR 266 sind die Universität Paderborn (Sprecherhochschule), die HU Berlin und die Universität Mannheim. Alle drei Standorte sind seit vielen Jahren Zentren für Rechnungswesen- und Steuerforschung. Hinzu kommen Wissenschaftler der LMU München, der Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, der ESMT Berlin und der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, die die gleiche Forschungsagenda verfolgen.

COVID-19: TRR 266 Research Insights

Addressing the economic challenges caused by COVID-19


How can we minimize long-term damage to the economic system caused by COVID-19? A question that currently occupies the minds of our politicians, policymakers, CEOs, professionals and citizens. A question to which there is not just one answer, but that needs to be broken down into sub questions and requires careful reflection from different perspectives. We therefore asked our researchers – a group of more than 80 researchers who specialize in taxation and accounting and have different methodological backgrounds – to share their thoughts regarding this burning question. The result: a collection of articles based on current and previous research, ranging from business- to country-level and from economic consequences to standard setting. We hope this collection will offer helpful insights for businesses and politics, and helps the world address these challenging times. Our researchers will regularly add to our collection, so stay tuned!

Bankruptcies: a victim of the corona crisis?

Prof. Dr. Joachim Gassen
Prof. Dr. Urska Kosi

The number of German companies filing for insolvency proceedings (bankruptcy) fell astonishingly during the pandemic. This is revealed by a newly compiled insolvency database. Read More

Open Science in corona times

Prof. Dr. Joachim Gassen

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic three new projects have been initiated by the Open Science Data Center of the TRR 266. Read More

In the News

Interview – Economist Jannis Bischof on the mood in German companies

German Business Panel
15.06.2021 – “Skepticism prevails among many companies” – Mannheim economist on the mood of the German economy (in German).

 

Supply bottlenecks in industry: region particularly affected

German Business Panel
29.05.2021 – The industry is experiencing an economic upswing. But strong international demand is causing supply bottlenecks and rising prices for precursors (in German).

 

How your company does not become a “zombie”

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
17.05.2021 – Zombie companies continue to pose a serious threat to the economy. Two experts assess the situation and explain how companies do not become “undead” (in German).

 

Debate on longer insolvency protection: “Can’t be done until the end of the day”

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
29.04.2021 – The suspension of the obligation to file for insolvency will no longer apply as of May 1. Retailers, the hospitality industry and the travel industry are calling for the regulation to be extended, but experts are against it (in German).

 

“Zombie companies” could trigger wave of insolvencies

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
23.04.2021 – Despite the pandemic, the number of insolvent companies is paradoxically low – for example, in the case of car repair shops. But appearances are deceptive, fear scientists who have built up an insolvency database (in German).

 

Numerous zombie companies in “Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung”

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
27.04.2021

 

Insolvency database in “Westfälisches Volksblatt”

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
24.04.2021

 

DIW President Fratzscher expects “Wave of Corporate Insolvencies”

Joachim Gassen & Urska Kosi
23.04.2021 – At the end of April, the corona-related suspension of the obligation to file for insolvency expires. This could force many businesses in distress due to the pandemic into bankruptcy (in German).

 

NDR Podcast about corona state aid

TRR 266 German Business Panel
24.03.2021 – Podcast interview with researcher Jannis Bischof about the effectiveness corona state aid in Germany (in German).

 

Survey: Companies dissatisfied with government measures

TRR 266 German Business Panel
10.02.2021 – At the beginning of December, just under one-third of companies expressed dissatisfaction with the government measures, in mid-January, it was almost 50 percent, according to the Corona survey by the German Business Panel. The proportion of satisfied companies fell to below 20 percent in the period (in German).

 

Businesses lose confidence in politics

TRR 266 German Business Panel
09.02.2021 – The second lockdown is increasingly getting on the nerves of businesses in Germany. More than a fifth of companies expect their own sales to never return to pre-crisis levels (in German).

 

December lockdown no killer

TRR 266 German Business Panel
08.01.2021 – The Corona crisis reduced the profits of German companies by 16.6 percent last year. That is the result of a representative study at the University of Mannheim. By the summer of 2020, the companies that suffered greatly from the first lockdown still had to accept losses of 22 percent (in German).

 

Entrepreneurs and the self-employed expect wave of insolvencies

TRR 266 German Business Panel
07.01.2021 – State aid in Germany has put the brakes on Corona’s decline in corporate profits. Nevertheless, entrepreneurs and the self-employed are expecting a wave of insolvencies across all sectors: On average, almost one in four businesses could not survive the crisis. (in German).

 

Local retail in the corona crisis

TRR 266 German Business Panel
05.01.2021 – How hard will the lockdown hit retailers? The answer to this question is complicated. Online retailers are not the only beneficiaries of the crisis – and not all local stores are struggling. A conversation with Prof. Dr. Jannis Bischof from the University of Mannheim (in German).

 

New regulations for winter state aid

TRR 266 German Business Panel
05.12.2020 – Corona – Federal government want to link compensation no longer to revenues but more strongly to fixed costs (in German).

 

University of Mannheim: A wave of bankruptcies threatens the gastronomy

TRR 266 German Business Panel
25.11.2020 – Corona pandemic – Mannheim study examines the consequences of the second lockdown for the largest industry in crisis (in German).

 

Firms fear second wave of infection in October

TRR 266 German Business Panel
28.9.2020 – According to a survey, half of all German firms have taken advantage of state aid to compensate for the sometimes severe sales losses caused by the Corona pandemic. 80 percent now expect a second wave – in October (in German).

 

Mannheim study on Corona consequences for economy: Every second company at risk

TRR 266 German Business Panel
26.8.2020 – The number of infections is rising, and further measures to contain the pandemic are also becoming more likely in Germany. Researchers at the University of Mannheim have investigated what this could mean for businesses (in German).

 

Mannheim Corona Survey: Companies are scared of second wave

TRR 266 German Business Panel
22.8.2020 – Without government support, more than half of the businesses in Germany would not have survived. This is the conclusion of a comprehensive study conducted by the University of Mannheim (in German).

 

Government support saves many companies during the crisis

TRR 266 German Business Panel
10.8.2020 – Results of the German Business Panel survey show: Almost every second company states it would not survive the corona pandemic without government support. 80 percent of the companies expect a second wave of infection (in German).

 

Coronavirus Unfolded – How the crisis increases the need for corporate transparency

Dirk Simons
6.7.2020 – How strong is the impact of the corona crisis on German SMEs? Is there even a threat of a market shakeout? And how should companies communicate their sometimes difficult situations? Dirk Simons answers these questions in the fifth part of University of Mannheim’s video series “Coronavirus Unfolded” (in German).

 

Change taxes in the crisis!

Deborah Schanz
28.5.2020 – It would help companies to offset current losses against profits, Deborah Schanz explains in a video for BR Wissen (in German).

 

Economic approach to corona policy: Warning against aid for individual sectors

Deborah Schanz
22.5.2020 – Loss carryback: How far should Germany go? Deborah Schanz discusses how the government could react to the economic challenges caused by the corona crisis.

 

Empty Cash Registers

Thorsten Sellhorn
30.4.2020 – Due to the Corona crisis, the revenues of many companies are collapsing. In an article in €uro Thorsten Sellhorn discusses the risks for DAX companies. (in German)

 

More effective ways for the government to help companies

Deborah Schanz & TRR 266 Tax Experts
24.4.2020 – Deborah Schanz, on behalf of the TRR 266 tax experts who issued a press release about immediate loss carryback, is interviewed by the Süddeutsche Zeitung. She argues that the loss carryback the German government introduced in response to COVID-19 is insufficient. (in German)

 

Maximilian Müller & Thorsten Sellhorn
21.4.2020 – Thorsten Sellhorn and Maximilian Müller are interviewed by the German Wirtschaftswoche about the implications of COVID-19 for the financial market. They argue, that at the start of the quarterly season, listed companies should not hide themselves and should provide their shareholders with sufficient information. (in German)

 

Maximilian Müller & Thorsten Sellhorn
20.4.2020 – An Article in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Maximilian Müller and Thorsten Sellhorn discuss how in the current challenging times the financial markets long for reliable information, offering a piece of financial planning security. (in German)

 

Laurence van Lent
02.04.2020 –  In a blog for the Institute for New Economic Thinking Tarek Alexander Hassan, Stephan Hollander, Laurence van Lent and Ahmed Tahoun discuss their time-varying, firm-level measure of exposure to epidemic diseases.

 

TRR Tax Experts
28.03.2020 – In an article in the Frankfurter Allgemeine the proposed tax measure of immediate loss carryback, as suggested by our tax experts, is discussed. (in German)

Participating Institutions

TRR 266‘s main locations are Paderborn University (Coordinating University), HU Berlin, and University of Mannheim. All three locations have been centers for accounting and tax research for many years. They are joined by researchers from LMU Munich, Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, ESMT Berlin and Goethe University Frankfurt who share the same research agenda.